

GAS INDUSTRY ACT 2001 VARIATION OF GAS DISTRIBUTION LICENCE

Australian Gas Networks Limited ACN 078 551 685

RECORD OF DECISION

1 May 2024

SUMMARY

Pursuant to the provisions of section 38(1)(c) of the Gas Industry Act 2001 (Vic) (Industry Act) the Essential Services Commission (the commission) has varied the licence of Australian Gas Networks Limited (ACN 078 551 685) (AGN Limited) to provide services by means of distribution pipelines in the distribution area, subject to the conditions of the licence.

BACKGROUND

On 28 October 1999, AGN Limited was first granted a licence to provide services by means of distribution pipelines in the distribution area in Victoria.

In November and December 2023, the commission consulted gas distribution licensees on a new standard gas distribution licence. This was done in conjunction with the commission's review of the Gas Distribution Code of Practice, in Annex D to the draft decision.

In February and April 2024, the commission further consulted gas distribution licensees on an updated standard gas distribution licensee.

On 1 May 2024 the commission made a final decision on review of the Gas Distribution Code of Practice, including a new standard gas distribution licence at Annex C to the final decision. The variations made in this decision were aimed at simplifying clauses, removing unnecessary licence conditions, updating terms and definitions and aligning conditions with other commission issued licences.

CONSIDERATION OF THE APPLICATION

Section 38(1)(c) of the Industry Act provides that a licence may be varied by notice in accordance with section 38(2) served on the licensee.

DECISION

In accordance with section 38(1) of the Industry Act and having regard to the commission's objectives under the Essential Services Commission Act 2001 and the Industry Act, the commission has decided to vary the AGN Limited licence to update outdate terms and remove redundant provisions.

THE COMMON SEAL of the ESSENTIAL SERVICES COMMISSION was affixed pursuant to the authority of the Commission on 8 May 2024

ESSENTIAL SERVICES COMMISSION A.B.N. 71 165 496 668

Kate Symons Chairperson